Crompton, Holbrook top WSU's All-Big Sky honorees

Oct 30 2012 - 6:44pm


Chansi Crompton
Brecken Holbrook
Chansi Crompton
Brecken Holbrook

OGDEN -- With a pair of first-teams and eight total honorees, the Weber State women's soccer team was well represented on Tuesday when the Big Sky Conference announced its 2012 All-league team and award winners.

Freshman central midfielder Chansi Crompton was named the Big Sky's newcomer of the year and was one of four midfielders selected for the All-Big Sky first team.

Freshman central defender Brecken Holbrook was named first team as well, giving the Wildcats two First Team all-conference selections for the first time since the 2008 season.

In addition, Weber State had six players selected as honorable mention.

Junior goalkeeper Ryann Waldman, freshman outside defender Shaylee Petersen, sophomore midfielder Kendra Bailey, sophomore midfielder Abbey Kennedy, freshman forward Mackenzie Harrison and senior forward Ari Aki were honored.

Crompton finished the regular season with 14 total points, scoring four goal and recording six assists. The six assists was the most in the Big Sky this year, marking the third time in league history that a freshman led the conference in assists. Crompton's four goals were tied for the most for the Wildcats this year.

Holbrook helped anchor a Weber State defense that allowed just 20 goals in 18 matches, and posted a 1.10 goals-against average. In Big Sky play, the Wildcat defense allowed just five goals in nine matches and posted a .54 GA-A.

In addition, Holbrook also played a key role offensively during league play as she scored the match-winning goal in a 1-0 win over Southern Utah and tallied the assist on the match-winner in a 1-0 win over Idaho State.

Waldman, Bailey, and Aki earned All-Big Sky honors for the second time in their careers. Aki was a first-team selection in 2010, while Bailey was a second-team selection last year, and Waldman earned honorable mention honors in 2011.

Idaho State forward Amanda Ellsworth and Montana forward Erin Craig shared the league's offensive most valuable player honor, while Montana defender Lauren Costa was selected as the league's defensive MVP. Northern Colorado's Natalie D'Adamio was named goalkeeper of the year.

Idaho State, Montana, Portland State, Weber State and Northern Colorado were each represented by two first-team selections.

The Wildcats will join Idaho State, Portland State and Montana in the Big Sky postseason tournament, beginning on Friday in Pocatello, Idaho.

The 'Cats are the No. 4 seed and will face top seed Idaho State at 3 p.m. No. 2 Portland State and No. 3 Montana will play at 11:30 a.m.


From Around the Web